SAN ANTONIO COMMUNITY LEADERS TO BE HONORED AT 5TH ANNUAL ANNE FRANK INSPIRE AWARDS

Anne Frank Inspire Academy, a BRAINATION public charter school, will host their 5th annual Anne Frank Inspire Awards virtually this year with a Facebook Live event that's available and open to the public on Tuesday, Dec. 8, beginning at 6 p.m. on the Anne Frank Inspire Academy <u>Facebook page</u>. Recognizing civic and community leaders that have made extraordinary contributions in our community is so important during this challenging year.

The categories for this year's honorees include Visionary Leadership; Community Civic Leadership; and Educational Excellence. Each recipient has inspired positive change with a lasting impact on San Antonio, embodying the spirit and character of the school's namesake, Anne Frank.

"Anne Frank's commitment to social justice, tolerance and diversity has inspired the world. These Awards strive to recognize the significance of these qualities and promote them throughout our community," said Ken Whitt, Ph.D., Superintendent of Inspire Academies, BRAINATION's charter school network.

5th Annual Anne Frank Inspire Awards Honorees:

Patti and Rod Radle, Visionary Leadership

The Radles and Inner City Development will receive the *Visionary Leadership Award* for their important work on San Antonio's westside. A community-based organization, Inner City Development responds to the emergency, educational and recreational needs of the community, providing critical, supportive and basic life services. Programs include a food pantry, after-school reading programs, summer recreation programs, a spring basketball league and more.

• Carmen Tafolla, Educational Excellence

Tafolla will receive the *Educational Excellence Award* for her important contributions to education in San Antonio and throughout Texas. An internationally acclaimed Chicano writer, storyteller, performance artist, motivational speaker and educator, Tafolla was San Antonio's first Poet Laureate in 2012 and Poet Laureate of Texas in 2015. Today, she nurtures and promotes creativity in her roles as President of the Texas Institute of Letters and a Bicultural-Bilingual Studies Professor at The University of Texas at San Antonio.

• Howie Nestel, Community / Civic Leadership Nestel will receive the Community and Civic Leadership Award for his dedication to the nonprofits that support San Antonio. Nestel holds positions in numerous nonprofit organizations and has worked to forward the important missions of more than 50 charities, including the largest annual collection drive for homeless in San Antonio.

"Each of these individuals is very deserving of this recognition, and we are so excited to honor their service to our community," said Jennifer Rower, CEO of BRAINATION. "This evening's virtual event

honors San Antonio's heroes and the work they're doing throughout our community. What a symbolic and beautiful way to bring 2020 to a close and usher in a new year of hope and possibility."

The Student Excellence Award recipient, who received a scholarship from this year's Anne Frank Inspire Awards, is Kyla Clark. Clark is a 2020 graduate of Anne Frank Inspire Academy and a current student at Hofstra University in New York. Clark was chosen based on her demonstration of leadership in school and the community, as well as her embodiment of the fundamental qualities of Anne Frank, including kindness, inclusiveness, creativity and social involvement.

5^h Annual Anne Frank Inspire Awards Scholarship Recipient:

• Kyla Clark, Anne Frank Inspire Academy Graduate

Proceeds from the Anne Frank Inspire Awards help fund college scholarships throughout Bexar County and further the mission of the Anne Frank Inspire Academy.

To view the Anne Frank Inspire Awards on Facebook Live, tune into the Anne Frank Inspire Academy <u>Facebook page</u> (@AnneFrankIA) at 6 p.m. on Tuesday, Dec. 8. To learn more about the Anne Frank Inspire Awards, visit <u>www.AFIAwards.org</u>.